top of page
Search

Traveling With a Smaller Wallet

If you asked me about my monetary habits, I would have to admit that I am a bit of a penny pincher. You might think I’m stingy and selfish or perhaps you think I’m brilliant. If you’ve come to find out how I spend so little on big trips, you've come to the right place. Tips for the average person, not the career traveler with the $80,000 minimum travelers credit card, are what you’ll find here. So without further ado, here are my top tips to save money while traveling.

Some of my Foreign Coin Collection

1.) Get a Jar and Fill it

No really. In the time leading up to your trip, make a point to add money to the jar whenever you think about the trip. Even a penny will do, but every time the thought crosses your mind you should add something. Personally I put all the coins I have in the jar. If I buy something and get 50¢ in change, I automatically put it in the jar. The jar is not to be emptied until you leave for the trip. It will add up fast. Especially when you get excited about the trip when It crosses your mind so you add $10 at once knowing that it will make you grateful when You leave. Last time I went on a week long trip I had saved $220, which I used as spending money for souvenirs and treats like dessert.

2.) Do Research Ahead of Time

Confirming pricing ahead of time is always a good idea. For example, when I traveled to San Diego we definitely wanted to see the zoo. So we looked online for prices and bought our tickets before we left which saved us a couple dollars. Make sure you only buy ahead of time what you know for certain you’ll do. Prioritize the things you want to see most, but don’t select too many things as they might get bumped from the schedule. You know your own travel pace best. I like to see and do everything when I travel. My boyfriend likes to relax most of his vacation, but you never know when he’ll want to change up the plans and add something exciting he saw to that days plans. So save room for flexibility. One of the coolest things Ive done by chance was a mini golf course and seashell museum combo in Maine. We had free time saved which we used to see this awesome collection.


3.) Ask the Right Questions

After working in hospitality for a few years I’ve learned that 99% of people don’t know to ask the right questions. The best question to ask is always “do you have any specials/deals/sales going on right now?” Of the thousands of calls I’ve answered, maybe only 5 people asked this question. What was my answer? ”Yes!” Every time. It never hurts to ask, especially for student/military discounts. Some establishments even have discounts for AARP and AAA members. You should also know how/when to negotiate when appropriate. Traveling with a big party? Ask for a deal. Is the souvenir you’re buying made or sold solely by the person in front of you? (ex: it’s homemade) Ask for a deal. But also know that negotiations aren’t appropriate in every country or for every product, so do your research ahead of time.


4.) Airbnb is Your New Best Friend

Over my last few trips I have found Airbnb to the best tool for finding places to stay. As long as you book far enough in advance (depending on the popularity of where you’re staying) Airbnb can save you hundreds of dollars. And personally, I like staying in an Airbnb more than a hotel. Airbnb rents unique rooms, houses, apartments, yurts, treehouses, you name it, to and from private parties. All you need is a valid driver license or ID. Airbnb let’s you know that who you’re staying with (or whose house you’re staying in while they’re away) is trustworthy and safe from thousands of reviews. Plus the host can also review you to show that you are a great guest for future trips. Airbnb prices are about $10-$25 cheaper per night even for a private house (vs a room in someone’s house) In my experience. They are also more unique than a cookie cutter hotel room. Most hosts are immaculately clean and leave goodies for their guests. While staying in San Diego, Ethan and I had a cottage all to ourselves. Complete with outdoor shower, gorgeous valley views, and abundant wildlife. The owners even introduced themselves and their children to us, and let us try some macadamia nuts from their nearby tree. We could also borrow their polaroid camera and try the local snacks and products they had laid out. Of course the usual hotel amenities were there too, but this only cost us $77 per night vs. $120+ at a chain hotel or bed and breakfast.

Baby Bunnies Outside Our Airbnb in San Diego

5.) Bring Snacks

I know what you’re thinking, I won’t need food when I’m on vacation because I want to try the local cuisine. Unfortunately, restaurant and snack bills add up tremendously fast, especially when you see all the delicious new food in front of you. It helps to be accustomed to the currency exchange rate, especially at a restaurant. You may think those tapas are around $7, but in reality they could be more like $12. Those "around $7" bills add up fast as well. My travel plan is to always bring snacks. I usually bring breakfast foods as they aren't messy or perishable. This also means that on a tight schedule you can eat on the go. Shopping at a local grocery store for snacks is also a great way to diversify your meals without breaking the bank. Plus any extra snacks can be brought home to share with friends and family.

6.) Pack Like a Bag of Chips

You know how bags of potato chips always come with more air in the air-to-chip ratio than you'd like? This way of packing in chips may make of a disappointing snack, but it is actually a really smart way to pack. If you are the type of person to bring home lots of souvenirs this tip is for you. Make sure that you leave plenty of room in your suitcase for souvenirs on the way back. I don't mean packing so little that you only have one outfit and your tooth brush, but make sure to leave a little extra room in your bag for what you bring back to avoid having to buy an extra bag or pay more in baggage fees. This is also a great way to limit your spending abroad; when the bag is full stop spending!

Souvenir Shop in Old Town San Diego

Most importantly when abroad you should know your financial limits. Always leave a little extra cash on hand in case you need it. In Antigua, Ethan almost gave our cash to a jet ski operator thinking we could have a fun afternoon on the water. It wasn't until after he paid the man that he realized that we still hadn't paid the taxi driver for the return ride! Thankfully the man returned our cash, but we could have been stuck on a beach in Antigua with no way home for awhile! Always assume you'll spend more than you think, and you'll be happy you came home with a little extra money for the next trip.


Remember to bring compassion wherever you go,


Kayla

Tags:

12 views0 comments
bottom of page