top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayla Bailey

My Top 5 Bucket List Places

Obviously I would love to go to every country and every place that my life will allow me, but if I had to narrow it down to only 5 places, these are the 5 I would choose. It was a hard list to make, as I felt like there could be 100 different places in the 5th spot. (In case you're curious, some close runner-ups were Ireland, Iceland, Greece, Georgia, South Africa, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Peru, Ghana, and South Korea.) I did not include places that I have already crossed off my bucket list, or places that I plan on going to soon. This includes Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, and hopefully Bali, Indonesia. (I have big plans for 2021).


This list explains what makes my heart jump for joy when I think about the possibility of traveling to these places, what I would do if I got the opportunity to travel there, and why you should consider a trip there too. (Please bring me with you! Haha!) I want to learn as much as I can from cultures all around the world, but these are the places I'd like to start with.


1.) Hawaii

Aloha Hawaii! When I was 5 years old I was fascinated with my grandfather's ability to play guitar. So I asked Santa Claus for one for Christmas. What did I get? A children's ukulele. 5 year old me was slightly disappointed (because my grandfather couldn't teach me to play the ukulele). However, today I am so happy that I received that ukulele. I have seriously played it since I was 12 years old, and it is one of my main hobbies. One of my main inspirations starting out was a duo called Honoka and Azita. They are two Hawaiian girls who are my age, and boy can they play the ukulele. If you'd like to hear my favorite performance by them you can here.


One of my favorite photographers is also from Hawaii, Matt Leong. His depictions of Hawaii are amazing. His photos inspire me every time he posts them online.

Other than my early Hawaiian inspirations, I have always wanted to travel to Hawaii to learn about its hula culture and interesting food. Hawaii is a gorgeous collection of 6 islands. It has jaw-dropping coastlines, tropical mountains, rainbows galore, and an amazingly unique culture. As a child, I was inspired by the Disney cartoon Lilo & Stitch, which is set in Hawaii. The concept of family and community surrounding "ohana," not to mention the delicious-looking snow cones were both very memorable to me. Overall, Hawaii has been a constant inspiration and aspiration in my life and I can't wait to explore its heart.


2.) Switzerland

Fine chocolate and some of the most beautiful mountains and lakes in the world. What more could you want than a trip to Switzerland? The crystal blue waters and tall mountains in the background of every swiss photo have always amazed me. I think "that can't be real" every time I see it. In Swiss woman Mathilde Rietsch's photos, I find beauty every time I log in to Instagram. I follow both her beautiful portrait account @mathilde.rietsch, and her landscape account @frihead, where she posts photos from her hikes and daily adventures in the Alps. Her photos always show how amazing Switzerland's natural beauty is to experience.

From the classic European architecture to the diverse culture, I want to explore every part of this little country. I would love to learn to make Swiss chocolate and understand what natural phenomenon created such a glorious country. Switzerland is an exciting mix of German and French with its own twist, rich in history, and beautiful around every corner.


3.) Japan

When I was in 6th grade I had a phase where I really liked Japan. I took a class where we could study whatever we wanted to pursue and my first subject was Japanese. It's a pretty complicated language so I didn't get much further than the numbers 1 through 10 and the word "tasukete" which means help. Hopefully I won't need that phrase anytime soon! I also learned a Japanese art called Sumi-e, which is a type of ink-wash painting. I wasn't any better at that than learning the language. However, my love for Japan is still strong.


Home to the biggest city in the world; Tokyo, Japan has an abundance of culture both new and old. I am interested in seeing the famous cherry blossom trees in bloom as well as the home to my favorite video game as a kid: Pokemon. Japan has many large Buddhist temples and natural wonders like Mount Fuji and Arashiyama, an area with tall bamboo forests. Japan is one of those places that just seems to have everything. I wonder how it all coexists so peacefully. I can't wait to explore as much of Japan as I can.


4.) India

The colorful and rich culture of India has always been interesting to me. With 22 official languages, the second-highest population in the world, and of course the ever-interesting Hindu religion. There is so much to India that even if one spent their entire life exploring it, one could never truly see it all. India has this sort of mystery about it, due to its vastness is people, land, and culture, which are all so different from my own.


I was originally inspired to visit India by a Youtube series I watched in 2013 called "The Rickshaw Run" by Jacksgap. The series documents 7 young men on a wild race across the heart of India in tiny tuk-tuks. Their adolescent lust for adventure and exploration was so inspiring to me and still is today. As creators, the men created videos, photography, and more from the back of tiny Indian taxi vehicles. Despite setbacks like atrocious Indian roads, a stolen camera, exposed film, and the infamous Delhi-belly, the group was able to make it to the finish line in time and spend weeks in the deepest parts of India's veins.

This sort of immersion in another culture is what creates true art and brings true knowledge to life. India is a place of unknown and excitement that I hope to know one day. I am ready to be overwhelmed by its color and culture. It is definitely a must on my bucket list.


5.) French Polynesia

We have all been jealous of someone's honeymoon photos of Tahiti or Bora Bora on social media, but did you know they were apart of the same country? French Polynesia is a very remote destination for travelers, but well worth the visit. It is apart of the continent of Australia and Oceania, which has some of the least populated countries in the world. French Polynesia is home to a very unique array of people, plants, and animals. It has some of the most jaw-dropping blue reefs and waterfalls of anywhere in the world.

French Polynesia has the beach life feel, but also feels like a scene from Disney's Moana. Ethereal beauty that comes from the landscape and Mā’ohi traditions are waiting for anyone who is inspired enough to fly to the other side of Earth and get lost. An unpopulated country must be an unexplored one, so I would love to go beyond the typical honeymoon tourism side of French Polynesia and dive right into its turquoise waters.


So where would your top 5 bucket list places be? Have I inspired you to take a trip yet? Personally, I feel that the most fulfilling thing I can do with my life is learn about new cultures and places through visiting them. It helps me grow as a person and I learn about the wildest and most exciting things. For example, did you know that you float in the Dead Sea? or that the water feels like oil on your skin? or that nothing inhabits its waters? These are all things I learned while visiting the Dead Sea in Jordan. The world is worth experiencing if for nothing more than to say that you have ridden a galloping camel and lived to tell the story. Would you rather tell the same office joke for the 50th time, or the story of your summiting Mount Nebo?


Remember to bring compassion wherever you go,


Kayla

Tags:

24 views1 comment
bottom of page