top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayla Bailey

My Bucket List of Things to Do Worldwide

Some bucket lists have places to go or things to do. Others have foods to try or people to meet. Mine mostly consists of countries, 219 to be exact (yes that's all of them). However, the other day I got to wondering... Why exactly do I want to visit these places? It's not just to see the sights or to say I have been there. I want to travel to these places to learn about their cultures and people, and to experience things that I know I could never do at home in Vermont.


So I have decided to compile a list of "things to do" that are on my bucket list. I'll check off each thing as I do them by adding a photo below the item on the list. If you have any other suggestions (as I'm sure this list will grow substantially over time). Please leave a comment below!

My Bucket List

  • Drive a Tuktuk

✓ Ride a camel

Me on a camel in the Wadi Rum Desert, Jordan

Riding a camel is extraordinary. You're 10 feet taller than you were on the ground, and you use your abs in ways you never thought possible to balance as the camel stands up back feet first. And did you know camels can run? Like really run? It is the most fun you'll ever have. Camels are sassy gentle giants who just want to get out and go! I wish I could've taken one home with me.

  • Snorkel in the Great Barrier Reef (Australia)

✓ Learn to Surf

Learning to surf in Australia was easier than I expected it to be. I almost stood up on my first wave. By the third wave I was cruising toward the beach like a pro (until wiping out properly as well). It is a pretty tiring sport, as you need to swim all the way out to the wave you want to catch. You also won't be able to ride a wave, unless you can paddle away from it fast enough to start the forward motion. I'm so glad I took the lesson, as gross as putting on a wet suit felt at first.

  • Climb Table Top Mountain (South Africa)

  • Learn to Hula Dance

  • Go to the top of the tallest building in the world (United Arab Emirates)

  • Land in a plane on the water

  • Go dog sledding

  • Ride in a hot air balloon

  • Hold a tarantula

  • Feed and hug an elephant

✓ Hold a koala

Upon learning that it is possible to hold one of the most amazing endangered creatures in Australia, how could I not add this to my bucket list? The one I held at Australia Zoo was named Rove. He was a small, male, Northern koala. He was quite soft and smelt like eucalyptus. They are about the same weight as a heavy cat, and have extremely sharp claws that dig into your shoulder, but I certainly wouldn't complain about holding such a sweetie all day long. Another woman doing the koala experience with me was so happy she cried tears of joy when holding him. If that doesn't tell you what a special moment this can be, then I don't know what will.


✓ Feed a Kangaroo

The Irwins (the Crocodile Hunter and his family) are a huge inspiration of mine. I think its pretty obvious that I have a deep love for the natural world and its creatures. So after watching scenes of Kangaroos being fed at Australia Zoo, this was instantly added as another must on my bucket list. The kangaroos remind me of a cross between a rabbit and a goat. They love to eat, but aren't pushy. They just sweetly reach down and much slowly on the pellets in your hand. You can pet these ones just like a cat. I believe wild kangaroos are a bit more aggressive, but you will see them sunning themselves in Australian gardens quite often. I honestly could have laid down and snuggled with them all day.

  • Swim with sea turtles

  • Try glass blowing

  • Be a contestant on a game show

  • Be an extra in a movie

  • Go to an Olympic event

✓ Swim in the Dead Sea

The water was very oily feeling. I float!

Swimming in the sea at the lowest point on Earth was very interesting. The rest of Jordan was about 60F that November day, but on the Dead Sea it was 80F. Gorgeous and unique. Definitely try a mud mask of your full body on the beach. You'll look crazy, but feel replenished. The water in the Dead Sea feels oily and it can be very strange to swim in. Your butt floats when you attempt the doggy paddle, and your feet stick up if you do a back float. Overall the Dead Sea leaves you with a feeling of weightlessness, relaxation, and salty skin. This has been top on my bucket list for most of my life, so I was super excited to cross it off.

  • Flip a house

  • Do a US cross country road trip

  • Stomp grapes for wine

  • Eat sushi

  • Eat frog legs

  • Eat escargo

  • Do the polar plunge

  • Drive in a foreign country on the other side of the road

  • Send a message in a bottle

  • Spend a week at a silent retreat (or something similar)

  • Experience Holi (India)

  • Do a spin while ice skating

  • Sleep in a treehouse

  • Sleep on an overnight train

  • Take my mom to France

✓ Take my dad to the Grand Canyon

My Dad and I Getting Our First Glimpse of the Grand Canyon at Mather's Point

I surprised my dad with a trip to the Grand Canyon for his 70th birthday. He hadn't been on a plane in thirty three years! It wasn't too hot in May so we enjoyed the views and ate some delicious steak (his favorite). I am so grateful that I did this for the man who I am so grateful for! He deserves a trip around the world. Although I don't know if he'd like to get on a plane ever again! The canyon was spectacular.

  • See a polar bear in the wild

  • Take a photo of a reflection in salt flats

✓ Kiss the Blarney Stone (Ireland)

Smooch!

A lesser known fact about the Blarney stone is that it is 85 feet in the air on top of a castle. So when they lean you over to kiss it, it looks like you are falling out of the 8th story of a building! I gave it a great smooch though, and was bestowed the gift of eloquence. Can you tell from how eloquent my writing is?

  • Go on a safari (Africa)

  • See a dog show

So what are the top things on your bucket list? Are you inspired to hold a koala or ride a camel now? Leave a comment below, I want to hear all about your bucket list adventures!


Remember to bring compassion wherever you go,


Kayla


Updated: June 13th 2022

Tags:

65 views2 comments
bottom of page